March 8, 2011
Thomas Everard House Tells the Story of a Prominent Public Servant on the Eve of the American Revolution
Step back in time and get a glimpse into the life of a prominent Williamsburg resident, Thomas Everard, in the 18th-century capital of Virginia during special programs this spring.
The tour, “Furniture for the Everard House,” gives an in-depth tour especially for furniture enthusiasts and is offered at 9:15 and 10:30 a.m. on Fridays, March 18-June 10 (except April 1 and 8).
“Mr. Everard’s Backyard” is a special guided tour exploring the public rooms of the Everard House as well as the outbuildings in the backyard. Guests use clues from architecture, material culture and archaeology to discover the labor, goods and supplies it took to run his household. The program is offered at 11:30 a.m. on Fridays, March 18-June 10 (except April 1 and 8).
Located next to the Governor’s Palace on Palace Green, the Everard House was built in 1718. The house is noted for its fine staircase with its elaborately turned balusters, sweeping handrails and richly ornamented carving on the stair brackets. The yard between the house and the smokehouse and the brick kitchen – both original and restored – is paved with original brick discovered during archaeological investigation.
Today the home appears as it did when it was inhabited by Thomas Everard, widower, and his two daughters.
Everard served in many public offices including clerk of the York County court from 1745 until his death in 1781, deputy clerk of the General Court, clerk of the Secretary of the Colony's office, mayor of Williamsburg for two one-year terms and was a member of the Court of Directors of the Public Hospital.
In the mid-1740s he married, Diana Robinson, a member of a local prominent family. The couple had two daughters, Francis (Fanny) and Martha (Patsy). Diana died in the late 1750s or early 1760s, leaving her daughters to help their father manage the household.
A Colonial Williamsburg admission pass, museum pass or Good Neighbor pass. A free reservation is required for these tours.
The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation is the not-for-profit educational and cultural organization dedicated to the preservation, interpretation and presentation of the restored 18th-century Revolutionary capital of Virginia. This town-sized living history museum tells the inspirational stories of our journey to become Americans through programs in the Historic Area and through the award-winning Revolutionary City program. Explore The Art Museums of Colonial Williamsburg and discover the DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum featuring the best in British and American decorative arts from 1670 – 1830 and the Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum home to the nation’s premier collection of American folk art, comprising more than 5,000 folk art objects made during the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. Colonial Williamsburg Hotels feature conference spaces and recreation activities from spa and fine dining to world-class golf. Colonial Williamsburg is committed to expanding its thought-provoking programming through education outreach on-site and online. Purchase of Colonial Williamsburg products and services supports the preservation, research and educational programs of the Foundation. Philanthropic support by individuals, corporations, and foundations benefits the educational mission of The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation.
Williamsburg is located in Virginia’s Tidewater region, 20 minutes from Newport News, within an hour’s drive of Richmond and Norfolk, and 150 miles south of Washington, D.C. For more information about Colonial Williamsburg, call 1-800-HISTORY or visit Colonial Williamsburg’s website at www.history.org.