Colonial Williamsburg® The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation's Official History and Citizenship Website

Page content
Reset text sizeResize text larger

December 17, 2012

Condé Nast Traveler Names Colonial Houses, Williamsburg Lodge and Williamsburg Inn to 2013 Gold List

Condé Nast Traveler magazine has recognized Colonial Williamsburg’s Colonial Houses – Historic Lodging, the Williamsburg Lodge and the Williamsburg Inn on its 2013 “Gold List” of the world’s best places to stay. Only two other hotels in Virginia – Keswick Hall in Charlottesville and Kimpton’s Lorien Hotel in Alexandria – were named to the magazine’s 19th annual list of the top hotels, resorts and cruise lines. The list is announced in the magazine’s January 2013 issue.

In 1938, two original houses in Colonial Williamsburg’s Historic Area opened as guest accommodations – the Quarter, an original building thought to have been used to house indentured servants or slaves, and the Orrell House, purchased by John Orrell around 1800. The James City County records of this house were destroyed during the Civil War. Both are located on Francis Street at the entrance to the Williamsburg Inn.

Today, the Colonial Houses offer 75 guest accommodations in 26 ‘houses,’ some as small as one room and others as large as 16 rooms. Multiple rooms can be combined within a house to accommodate parties of up to 32. Furnished with authentic period reproductions and antiques, each Colonial House has a unique story and appeal of its own and offers a rare way to experience the restored revolutionary capital of Virginia.

The Williamsburg Inn is the landmark property conceived and built by John D. Rockefeller Jr. and opened in April 1937. The crown jewel of Colonial Williamsburg’s hotels, the Inn celebrated its 75th anniversary this year. An extensive renovation in 2001 brought refreshed vibrancy and elegance to the Inn, which is decorated in the elegant style of the English Regency period. None of the Inn’s 62 guest rooms is exactly alike.

The Williamsburg Lodge is a hotel unlike any in America. Opened in 1939 to provide comfortable accommodations for travelers to the historic town, the Lodge was also constructed under the guidance of John D. Rockefeller Jr. From the original blue stone floors to the cypress accents and reproduction folk art, in every cozy nook and spacious expanse, the Lodge tells the story of its Virginia setting and the history of the town Rockefeller restored. Accommodations at the Lodge total 323 attractively appointed guest rooms with modern amenities and furnishings inspired by the collections of Colonial Williamsburg’s celebrated Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum. The Lodge houses 45,000 square feet of conference and banquet space, including the 6,700-square foot Virginia Room.

Media Contact:
Barbara Brown